During more than 60 years, Günter Rittner created a remarkable artistic oeuvre, and has become widely known by orders of personages from politics, industry, science and art. His exceptional talent is his deep empathy for his models. As a master of portrait-painting, he portrayed extraordinary people. Since the early fifties, his preferred models have been artists, especially the personalities of actors and opera-singers, both as private persons and in their roles.

With his inherited histrionic gift, he is able to express habitus, impulse and individuality in a clear style of painting. The diverse colouring, the play of light and shadow make the person's aura and nature seem all alive.

All his great oil portraits, showing a considerable number of well-known actors such as Therese Giehse, Fritz Kortner, Curd Jürgens, Heinz Rühmann, Marcel Marceau and Senta Berger, then the concert pianist Elly Ney, cardinal Friedrich Wetter, the writer Anette Kolb, and also the images of the former President of the Federal Republic of Germany, Walter Scheel, of the former Chancellors Ludwig Erhard and Kurt-Georg Kiesinger, of Hans-Jochen Vogel and Franz-Josef Strauß, and many others, are of timeless validity.

Günter Rittner was born in Breslau on 11th March, 1927. After his return from his war captivity, he found a second home in Munich where he started his studies at the Academy of Fine Arts in 1948. His masters were Prof. Hiller-brand and Prof. Teutsch. As a young man, Günter Rittner also started writing. Never at leisure, he occupied himself with studies of philosophy and life itself. On his trips to foreign countries, he transformed his impressions of people and landscapes into colours.

Günter Rittner was awarded the Bundesverdienstkreuz. His works have found their place in the Municipal Gallery of Munich, in the Municipal Museum of Munich, in the Bavarian State Opera, in the Kammerspiele (Munich), and in the Schiller Theatre, Berlin. His images can also be found in the Chancellor's Office of the Federal Republic of Germany (Chancellors' Gallery), in the Federal Ministries, and in numerous private collections of art.

Today the artist is living in Munich and on Gran Canaria.

Günter Rittner schuf in über 60 Jahren ein beachtenswertes künstlerisches Werk und wurde durch Aufträge aus Politik, Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft und Kunst in breiter Öffentlichkeit bekannt. Seine besondere Begabung liegt in dem hohen Einfühlungsvermögen, das er seinen Modellen entgegenbringt. Als Meister der Bildniskunst portraitierte er außergewöhnliche Menschen. Dabei gilt seine Vorliebe seit den frühen fünfziger Jahren dem Künstlerportrait, insbesondere der Persönlichkeit von Schauspielern und Opernsängern im Leben wie in ihren Rollen.

Mit seiner ererbten schauspielerischen Fähigkeit erfasst er Habitus, Impulse und Individualität in einer klaren Bildgestaltung. Die unterschiedliche Farbgestaltung, das Licht- und Schattenspiel lassen die Aura und Natur des Menschen lebendig erscheinen.

Alle seine großen Ölportraits, eine stattliche Zahl Schauspieler von Rang und Namen wie Therese Giehse, Fritz Kortner, Curd Jürgens, Heinz Rühmann, Marcel Marceau, Senta Berger, über die Pianistin Elly Ney, bis zu Kardinal Friedrich Wetter, der Schriftstellerin Anette Kolb, dem Altbundespräsidenten Walter Scheel, den Altbundeskanzlern Ludwig Erhard und Kurt Georg Kiesinger, Hans-Jochen Vogel und Franz Josef Strauß, sowie vielen anderen, haben zeitlose Gültigkeit.

Günter Rittner wurde am 11. März 1927 in Breslau geboren. Nach Rückkehr aus der Kriegsgefangenschaft fand er eine zweite Heimat in München, wo er ab 1948 die Akademie der bildenden Künste besuchte. Seine Lehrmeister waren die Professoren Hillerbrand und Teutsch.
Als junger Mann verlegte sich Günter Rittner auch auf das Schreiben. Er kannte keine Muße, sondern setzte sich mit philosophischen Gedanken und dem Leben auseinander. Auf Studienreisen entstanden farbige Eindrücke von Menschen und Landschaften.

Günter Rittner wurde das Bundesverdienstkreuz verliehen.
Seine Werke befinden sich in Münchens Städtischer Galerie, im Münchner Stadtmuseum, in der Bayrischen Staatsoper, in den Münchner Kammerspielen und im Berliner Schillertheater. Zwei seiner vielbeachteten Werke, es sind die großformatigen Portraits der Altbundeskanzler Ludwig Erhard und Kurt Georg Kiesinger, zählen zu den ersten Bildern mit denen Altbundeskanzler Helmut Schmidt die Kanzlergalerie im Bundeskanzleramt gründete. Auch in den Bundesministerien sowie in zahlreichen privaten Kunstsammlungen sind seine Arbeiten zu finden.

Heute lebt der Künstler in München und auf Gran Canaria.